Posted by: Brian | October 1, 2007

Must Hate Debt Live

So my entrepreneurial spirit kicked in yesterday. I have been playing with trying to learn another language and getting frustrated at how long it takes. The nice thing is that Langorang is launched and running in Ruby on Rails but Must Hate Debt has been a slow process. I have actually had the MHD idea brewing for years.

So, I finally had to do something about it. I went searching the web for dating website code and stumbled upon osDate, a PHP solution that has all of the features I am looking for. I have already found a bug and hopefully I can get it killed before too many people signup. Go figure, right?!

So here is the run down. MustHateDebt.com is now live to the world and running on PHP and MySql. It is still hosted at Site5 and I used a basic template with some slight modifications for the look until I can get the graphics done the right way. It is a niche site primarily for those who are unmarried fans of Dave Ramsey and want to meet or date others who are Dave fans. A quick side note, if you don’t know who Dave Ramsey is you should check him out. He is a radio personality and financial counselor who has helped me get out of debt and stay out of debt.

The next step is to learn how to grow the site. Now that I have 3 main sites that I am responsible for, I can’t wait to see how it will all come together. As I learn about both sides of the web world, I will be sure to document the processes. Certainly each website has its own target audience and therefore the steps for growth will be different. I believe this is what makes it fun. Your feed back is always appreciated. Let me know what you think.


Leave a comment

Categories